As last week’s student blogging challenge’s topic was about digital footprints, I decided to google myself or to be more precise my name.

Nearly every result on the first three pages of Google was either about a 22 year old cellist or about some other Sophies I don’t know. When I then continued searching and scrolling through the pages I first found me on page four at the website of Promusica Carinthia in cooperation with which I played twice at a matinée in the Warmbader Hof this spring. My name was mentioned on page 6, too. That time it was about the chemistry competition of Carinthia where I reached the third place. Then on page 9 I was remarked once more by the “Känguru der Mathematik” website telling that I made the fourth place in our province the year 2013. Also the test in the following year were I made the first price was remarked. However, the following 10 pages were empty, no sign of me existing.

Then I typed in my most often used nickname Chickinator and I recognized that already the first image which showed up had been taken by me years ago. I hardly even remembered it even existed, but there it was.

Yet I figure that my digital footprint is rather small which I really appreciate as I don’t want to belong to the group of people being completely translucent. I have nothing to hide, but I think those who want to find out about me should do it face to face and not google and interpret things into the information given that might not be true.